archaeology_newsletter Weblog


5th Symposium of the Hellenic Society for Archaeometry October 2, 2008

Filed under: Coming Up — Argy @ 3:34 pm

5th Symposium of the Hellenic Society for Archaeometry

8 – 10 October 2008, Αθήνα

Cotsen Hall Auditorium, American School of Classical Studies at Athens


The Hellenic Society for Archaeometry (H.S.A.) announces the organisation of the 5th Symposium on Archaeometry which will take place in Athens, October 2008. The aim of the Symposium is to promote the results of recent scientific studies on archaeological material and related fields in the Aegean region.

Τhe main topics covered are: Dating, Authenticity, Technology and Provenance (ceramic, metals, glass, stones, mortars, pigments etc), Geophysical Prospection, Geoarchaeology, Research in Conservation, Bioarchaeology, Organic Residues, Integrated Studies, Statistics in Archaeology.

Special theme session:

Greek Caves Archaeology, Palaeoanthropology and Palaeoenvironment :

The application of Scientific Studies with Emphasis on Large Scale Projects.

Abstract submission: The abstracts should be submitted in Greek or English following instructions given on the symposium’s web page. The abstracts will be evaluated by the International Scientific Committee for either oral or poster communication based on the quality, originality and strength of the presented information.

Languages: Greek and English                                                   

Fees: Regular 100 euro – Student 50 euro

Social Program: A welcome reception and a farewell dinner are planned,

details of which will be announced on the web page.

Symposium Proceedings: Oral and poster presented studies can be submitted for publication. Instructions for preparation of the manuscripts can be found on the symposium’s web page. The publication of the Proceedings is planned for within 4-6 months after the end of the Symposium.

Calendar: 20 June, 2008: Abstract submission deadline       

8 Οκτωβρίου 2008: Full paper submission deadline

International Scientific Committee

Ε. Aloupi, D. Anglos, B. Argyropoulos, J. Buxeda i Garrigos, G. Chrysikos, M. Colombini, E. Dimou, G. Theodorou,  S. Fox, Α. Hauptmann, E. Ioakimoglou, R. Jones, L. Joyner, I. Kakouli, N. Kallithrakas-Kontos, L. Karali-Giannakopoulou, A. Karydas, D. Kontopoulou, E. Kiriatzi, C. Kotsakis, I. Liritzis, Y. Maniatis, Η. Mommsen,         T. Moropoulou, G. Papadimitriou, S. Papamarinopoulos, V. Perdikatsis,  Ε. Pernicka, T. Rehren, S. Sotiropoulou, I. Tzachili, G. Tsokas, G. Wagner, I. Whitbread.

Organising Committee – H.S.A. Board

N. Zacharias, President ( N.C.S.R. Demokritos),  N. Kyparissi – Apostolika, Vice–President (Ministry of Culture)

Μ. Georgakopoulou, Secretary (British School at Athens), T.  Vakoulis, Treasurer (Ministry of Culture)

I. Bassiakos, Member ( N.C.S.R. Demokritos), Kiki Polikreti, Member (Ministry of Culture)

Yorgos Facorellis, Member (University of Thessaly)